Last modified on March 2, 2018

To view and manage your private locations in AlertSite, do the following:

  • In AlertSite UXM, navigate to  > Settings > InSite / Private Locations.

  • In AlertSite 1.0, navigate to Configure > InSite Locations.

All private locations are grouped by their billing plans:

AlertSite UXM

Private locations

Click the image to enlarge it.

AlertSite 1.0

Private locations

Click the image to enlarge it.

The table with private location details has the following columns:

Column Description
InSite Location Name The location name that is displayed in AlertSite dashboards and reports.
Status Whether the location is active, that is, runs the monitors. Private locations can be disabled temporarily, for example, for maintenance.
Notify Error Whether monitor errors detected at this location will trigger alerts. It can be changed at any time.
Last Monitoring Test The date and time of the latest monitor run performed at this location. If the location has active monitors, but this value lags behind significantly, it may indicate a problem with the location. For example, there might be connectivity problems, or the location may need a restart.

Software Version

The location’s software version number.

For the Private Node Server (VM) release notes, see Version History.

Monitors Used
(or Devices Used in AlertSite 1.0)
The total number of monitors configured to use this location. This includes both enabled and disabled monitors.

Add a New Private Location

To add a location powered by... See...
Virtual machine VM setup
Hardware appliance InSite setup
Desktop application PrivateNode EndPoint setup

Access a Private Location’s Web Interface

Private Node Server and InSite locations have a web interface (Control Panel) for configuration. To access the web interface, navigate to:

  • https://<IP address>– for Private Node Server 2.0 and later

  • http://<IP address>– for earlier versions

where the <IP address> is that of your private location. The Control Panel can be used to change the proxy settings, mail relay and other internal configuration settings for your private location. For details, see Private Node Server Control Panel (Web Interface).

Find Monitors That Use a Private Location

In the list of private locations, click or next to the location name to view a list of monitors configured to use this location. The list includes both enabled and disabled monitors – disabled monitors also count towards your plan limits. The Monitors Used (or Devices Used) column shows the total number of monitors associated with this private location.

AlertSite UXM

Viewing monitors configured to use a private location

Click the image to enlarge it.

AlertSite 1.0

Viewing monitors configured to use a private location

Click the image to enlarge it.

You can change the locations for a monitor in the monitor settings.

Change the Location Name, Billing Plan, Status

To edit the location name or other parameters:

  • In AlertSite UXM, click next to the location.

  • In AlertSite 1.0, click the location name to open the configuration screen.

You can change the following settings:

  • Name (or Description in AlertSite 1.0) – Specifies the location name displayed in AlertSite dashboards, reports and alerts.

  • Select Plan (or Location Plan in AlertSite 1.0) – The billing plan for this location. VM Node plans are used for virtual machines and InSite plans are for hardware appliances.

  • Monitoring is active – A private location is Inactive until it has been registered. Once registered, it becomes Active, that is, starts running the monitors. Changing the status to Inactive will temporarily stop monitoring from this location until you restore the Active status.

  • Notify on error – Specifies whether the location will send alerts about monitoring errors found at this location.

  • Location ID – Read-only. A unique location ID that is generated when you register the location in AlertSite. This ID maps the location entity in AlertSite to the actual VM or hardware appliance that performs the monitoring. You will need the location ID if you ever need to re-register the location, or replace its underlying VM or hardware appliance.

  • Latitude and Longitude – Optional. The geographical coordinates of this private location. These coordinates are currently not used, but may be used in the future.

    Latitude varies from -90 to 90, and longitude varies from -180 to 180. Include up to 4 decimal places, for example, 26.3125.

    Tip: You can copy the coordinates from Google Maps. Paste the address into the search box, then right-click the location and select What’s here. Copy the latitude and longitude from the box that appears.

Temporarily Stop Monitoring From a Private Location

  • In AlertSite UXM, click next to the location, clear the Monitoring is active check box, and click Save.

  • In AlertSite 1.0, click a location in the list, change Monitoring Is to Inactive, and click Submit.

If there are monitors configured to use this location, they will continue running from other configured locations, but not from this one.

Delete a Private Location

  • In AlertSite UXM, click next to the location on the list and confirm the deletion.

  • In AlertSite 1.0, click a location in the list, then click Delete in the top right corner and confirm the deletion.


  • Deleting a private location disconnects it from your AlertSite account and deletes all the previous monitoring data collected by this location.

  • The VM or hardware appliance remains intact, but it no longer appears as a location in AlertSite. You can re-register it later if needed, or you can delete the VM or shut down the hardware appliance if you no longer need it.

See Also

Private Locations
Private Node Server
PrivateNode EndPoint