License Deactivation

Applies to ReadyAPI 3.51, last modified on February 16, 2024
Important Notice for ReadyAPI Customers

ReadyAPI has moved to SmartBear License Management and from October 2023, file-based licensing will be retired. As of September 2023, all licenses issued for your subscription term will be ID-based licenses by default. If you are not currently on ID-based licensing, it's time to migrate immediately. File-based licensing will no longer be supported as of October 2023. This means that technical support requests related to file-based licensing will not be accommodated. If you encounter technical issues that you're unable to resolve, it could lead to service interruption. For customers still in the process of migration, we recommend reaching out to your Account Manager to discuss your migration plan. Alternatively, you can log a support request with our Customer Care Team for assistance.

For more details regarding licensing support, please refer to this link.

About

A fixed license is bound to the computer where you activated it. You cannot use your license on another machine until you deactivate it. Deactivating a license removes the license data from the machine and exports it to a file that you can later use to activate the license on another machine.

The deactivation procedure should be done in the following cases:

  • You are going to leave the company and need to hand over the license to another person.

  • You want to move the license to some other computer (see Exporting and Importing Licenses).

  • The computer where ReadyAPI is installed has some technical issues and will be retired.

  • There will be an upgrade to the computer, which requires reinstalling the operating system.

You can deactivate a license either online or offline. We recommend that you perform online deactivation when possible. It is faster and easier than offline deactivation. Choose offline deactivation only if you cannot perform online deactivation for some reason.

Note that you need at least one Pro license for any of the ReadyAPI tools to use ReadyAPI. License deactivation disables the Pro features. So, if you disable a license for some tool, and if you do not have a Pro license for at least one other tool, you will not be able to use the product.

Instructions

Related Topics of Interest

Exporting and Importing Licenses

Licensing VirtServer

Licensing TestEngine

See Also

File-Based Licenses

Manage fixed licenses
 
Highlight search results