Last modified on January 19, 2018

You can configure blackouts to stop monitoring or alerting at specific periods, for example, when your web application is undergoing scheduled maintenance. This way, the maintenance time will not affect your application’s availability and performance data in AlertSite. Blackouts can be one-time or repeating every week.

Notes:

  • You must be an Admin, Co-Admin or Power user to add or change monitor blackouts.

  • Alerting blackouts affect only availability alerts, like HTTP errors or timeouts. Performance alerts are sent during blackout periods as well.

  • We recommend that you add blackouts at least an hour before the blackout scheduled time. This will allow the changes to reach through our network of locations.

View Blackouts

AlertSite UXM

Monitor blackouts appear on the calendar in the Monitor Summary dashboard. To view or change them:

  1. Go to Monitors > Summary.

  2. Select the monitor from the drop-down list at the top.

One-time blackouts appear in dark gray. Recurring blackouts appear in blue.

Monitoring Blackout Calendar

Click the image to enlarge it.

AlertSite 1.0

All the monitors that have blackouts configured have the Clock clock icon next to their name on the Dashboard and in the other monitor lists.

To manage blackouts, click the clock icon.

Monitors with configured blackouts

Click the image to enlarge it.

Add a Monitor Blackout

AlertSite UXM

  1. In the Monitor Blackouts calendar, click Schedule Monitor Blackout.

    Creating a monitor blackout

    Click the image to enlarge it.

  2. Choose whether you want a one-time or recurring blackout and click Next.

  3. Under Blackout Type, choose whether to disable monitoring completely, or only notifications (that is, the monitor still runs, but does not send alerts).

  4. For one-time blackouts, set the start and end time.

    One-time monitoring blackout

    Click the image to enlarge it.

  5. For recurring blackouts, select the starting day of the week and start time, then the ending day of the week and the end time. The blackout occurs weekly on this schedule.

    Recurring blackout schedule

    Click the image to enlarge it.

  6. Click Finish.

AlertSite 1.0

  1. On the Dashboard, click the wrench icon next to the monitor you want to edit.

  2. Click Blackouts to display the Monitor Blackouts screen.

    Blackouts button

    Click the image to enlarge it.

  3. The Monitor Blackouts screen has two sections:

    • Persistent Blackouts – Disable monitoring or error notifications for specified days and hours on a weekly basis. This is most useful when you have scheduled maintenance periods and want to temporarily halt monitoring during that time frame, or if you have recipients that you do not want to get alerts during certain times of the day or during weekends.

    • One-Time Blackouts – Used when you have a single event during which you do not want monitoring or notifications to take place.

    Monitor Blackouts

    Click the image to enlarge it.

    Specify the blackout settings of the needed blackout type.

    For persistent blackouts, select the starting day of the week and start time, then the ending day of the week and the end time. You need to also choose whether to disable monitoring completely, or only notifications (that is, the monitor still runs, but does not send alerts).

    Example

    For one-time blackout, set the start and end time.

    Example

Add Blackouts to Multiple Monitors

You can use the bulk editor to add or change blackouts for multiple monitors at once. See Bulk Editing for details.

Change Blackout Schedule

To change the blackout days or time:

  • In AlertSite UXM, click the blackout on the calendar and set a new period.

  • In AlertSite 1.0, click the Clock clock icon next to the needed monitor name on the Dashboard and set a new period.

You can edit only recurring blackouts. To change a one-time blackout, delete it and add a new one.

Delete a Blackout

AlertSite UXM

  • On the blackout calendar, click the blackout. The Edit Blackout dialog appears.

  • Click  Delete in the lower left corner, and then Yes to confirm.

AlertSite 1.0

  1. On the Dashboard, click the Clock clock icon next to the monitor name.

  2. To delete persistent blackouts, select the corresponding Delete check box in the Persistent Blackouts section.

    To delete one-time blackouts, select the corresponding Delete check box in the One-Time Blackouts section.

    Blackouts deletion in 1.0

    Click the image to enlarge it.

  3. Click Submit to save the changes.

See Also

Configuring Monitors
Enabling and Disabling Monitors and Alerts