Additional Authentication Options

Applies to Collaborator 13.7, last modified on July 16, 2021

Administrators can complement Collaborator's generic authentication with user authentication via third-party services (for example, GitHub or Atlassian). In this case the Collaborator's login page will display additional login options, so that users can specify their third-party account and log into Collaborator.

General concept

The authentication process will consist of the following steps:

  1. A user tries to access a Collaborator server.

  2. Collaborator recognizes that the user is not logged-in and displays the login page with additional login options.

  3. User selects the desired third-party service and specifies their credentials on that service.

  4. The third-party service authenticates the user and redirects back to the Collaborator.

  5. Collaborator server logs the user in.

  6. If a user with the specified credentials is not found, Collaborator creates a new user.

The logout process will consist of the following steps:

  1. A user tries to log out from the Collaborator server.

  2. Collaborator sends logout request to the third-party service.

  3. The third-party service logs the user out and sends the response back to the Collaborator server.

  4. Collaborator logs the user out.

Authentication via third-party services in Collaborator

Collaborator supports third-party authentication for Web Client only. For other clients, you should specify your regular Collaborator credentials.

Currently, authentication via the following third-party accounts is supported:

See Also

Users
Admin Tasks

Highlight search results