Manage Groups

Applies to VirtServer 3.12.1, last modified on June 17, 2022

Groups are a way of managing user permissions in VirtServer. They allow you to make certain virtual services only available to a limited group of people.

For example, you may want to:

  • Make sure teams can only interact with virtual services they manage.

  • Protect critical virtual services from accidental deletion or stopping by making them accessible only to a small number of people.

  • Make services deployed for internal purposes of one team unavailable to other teams.

  • Isolate new users so that they can learn and experiment without the risk of breaking any important functionality.

Permissions

Create a group

To create a group:

  1. Go to the home page of VirtServer:

    https://<virtserver-host>:<port>/virtserver#/

    For example, if VirtServer is installed on your local machine and you run it on the default port, use the following link:

  2. Log in as an administrator.

  3. Select Admin > Groups.

  4. Click Create Group:

    Creating a group

    Click the image to enlarge it.

  5. In the dialog that appears, enter the group name and select users who will be part of the group:

    Adding users to the group

    Click the image to enlarge it.

  6. Click Save.

To edit a group:

  1. Go to the home page of VirtServer:

    https://<virtserver-host>:<port>/virtserver#/

    For example, if VirtServer is installed on your local machine and you run it on the default port, use the following link:

  2. Log in as an administrator.

  3. Select Admin > Groups.

  4. Click :

    Editing a group

    Click the image to enlarge it.

  5. In the dialog that appears, edit the group name and select users who will be part of the group:

    Adding users to the group

    Click the image to enlarge it.

  6. Click Save.

To delete a group:

  1. Go to the home page of VirtServer:

    https://<virtserver-host>:<port>/virtserver#/

    For example, if VirtServer is installed on your local machine and you run it on the default port, use the following link:

  2. Log in as an administrator.

  3. Select Admin > Groups.

  4. Click :

    Deleting a group

    Click the image to enlarge it.

Note: Virtual services that were assigned to the deleted group will become unassigned and available to all the users.

See Also

Manage VirtServer Users

Highlight search results