Sharing APIs

Last modified on July 27, 2021

You can easily share your APIs with other users and teams on SwaggerHub. The way you share an API depends on whether it is public or private and on the access level (view or edit) you want other people to have. The following scheme gives an overview of possible options.

How to share an API with other users

Grant view access

The way you do this depends on whether your API is public or private.

Public APIs are visible to anyone on SwaggerHub – both registered users and anonymous viewers. To share your public API with other users, simply copy your API link from the browser’s address bar and send it to your colleagues, partners or customers:

Copying API URL from browser address bar

Viewers do not need a SwaggerHub account to view your public API and do not count towards your plan limits.

 

Private APIs are visible only to the API owner and collaborators. To share your private API with other users, you need to add them as collaborators with the View role. These users need a SwaggerHub account to view your API. The users do not need to be members of your organization, they can be external viewers.

To add collaborators to your private API:

  1. Open your API page on SwaggerHub.

  2. Click the  Share button.

  3. Add the users or teams you want to grant view access to. Unselect all roles other than View.

    Granting view access to an API
  4. Click Save.

The selected users will receive an email with a link to your API. You can also send them the link yourself.

Notes:

  • New users invited via email will be prompted to sign up when they accept the invitation. These users need to sign up using the email address to which they received the invitation.

  • The total number of collaborators you can add depends on your plan or, if the API is owned by an organization, on the organization plan. You can see the limit at the bottom of the dialog shown above.

What View Access Means

Viewers can:

  • View interactive API docs and use the “try it out” functionality.

  • View the YAML code of your API spec and download the spec in the YAML or JSON format.

  • Generate client and server code for your API (unless you hide these menus via the Codegen Options).

  • Logged in users can also fork your API.

Grant edit access

To allow other users to edit your API, you need to add them as collaborators with the Edit role. This applies both to public and private APIs. All collaborators need a SwaggerHub account. Collaborators can be members of your organization or they can be external users.

To grant edit access to other users:

  1. Open your API page on SwaggerHub.

  2. Click the  Share button.

  3. Add the users or teams you want to grant edit access to, and select the Edit role for them.

    Granting edit access to an API
  4. Click Save.

The selected users will receive an email with a link to your API. You can also send them the link yourself.

Notes:

  • New users invited via email will be prompted to sign up when they accept the invitation. These users need to sign up using the email address to which they received the invitation.

  • The total number of collaborators you can add depends on your plan or, if the API is owned by an organization, on the organization plan. You can see the limit at the bottom of the dialog shown above.

Share an organization’s private APIs with all members

Organizations have the Allow Designers and Consumers to view all the Organization’s Private APIs option that controls whether the members can see just public APIs or both public and private APIs. This option can be changed by the organization owner:

  1. Click the organization in the sidebar on the left.

  2. Click Settings in the top right corner of the organization page. This opens the organization settings.

  3. Switch to the Members tab.

  4. Select or clear Allow Designers and Consumers to View all the Organization’s Private APIs.

  5. Click Save.

When this option is enabled, the organization members have View access to private APIs by default, unless the members are explicitly added as collaborators and a different role is assigned to them.

See Also

Collaboration
Public and Private APIs

Highlight search results