The System Time Has Been Changed on Your Computer or on the License Manager PC

Applies to AQTime 8.81, last modified on March 03, 2021

AQTime’s licensing modules detect changes made to the system time in order to prevent attempts to extend time-limited licenses. Therefore, it is important to ensure that the computer time and date are set correctly prior to installing AQTime.

If the licensing modules detect a change of the system time, you will see a message box informing you about the problem. For example, the problem occurs if you have manually rolled back the system clock on your computer after having installed AQTime.


The problem usually occurs if you roll back the system clock manually on your computer after installing AQTime. If the time change is part of your profiling plan, we recommend that you restore the correct time at the end of the run.

To resolve the problem, try doing the following:

  • On your computer, set the date and time that match your time zone and then restart your computer.

  • If the problem is not solved:

    • Set the date and time that you had when installing AQTime on your computer. If you do not remember the exact date and time, set approximate values that are later than the date and time of installation.

    • Restart your computer.

    Note: This solution is temporary as it may be inconvenient to have an incorrect date and time on your computer. Contact the SmartBear Support Team for a persistent solution.

Sometimes, you may need to change the system time on a local machine and you may need to use AQTime on this machine. Or you may have some problems with restoring the system time on a machine. In such cases, the problem is solved in different ways, depending on the license type you have:

Node-Locked license

Consider upgrading your license to the Floating User license and then activate it on a machine where the correct system time is set and users don't change it. For example, you can activate your license on a server connected to your network. After that, install AQTime on the desired local computer and run it as usually. In this case, you can easily change the system time on your local machine and this won't affect the license.

For instructions on how to deactivate your license and then upgrade it to the Floating User license, contact our Support Team.

Floating User license

If you have a Floating User license, you need to deactivate it and then move it to another machine where the correct system time is set and users don't change it. For example, you can activate your license on a server connected to your network.

For more information on deactivating your license and moving it, see Deactivating and Moving Licenses.

To resolve the problem, you can also use the Licensing Troubleshooter on our web site:

Licensing Troubleshooter

The troubleshooter will also help you collect information needed to submit a request to the SmartBear Support Team.

See Also

Troubleshooting
Getting Help With Licenses

Highlight search results