[Collapse]Collaborator 10
 [Expand]General Information/viewarticle/80040/
 [Expand]Getting Started/viewarticle/80359/
 [Expand]Collaborator Server/viewarticle/80060/
 [Expand]Web Client/viewarticle/80107/
 [Expand]Desktop Clients/viewarticle/80151/
 [Expand]Version Control Integration/viewarticle/80048/
 [Collapse]External Integrations/viewarticle/80340/
  [Expand]Creating Custom Reports/viewarticle/80367/
   Bug-Tracking Integration/viewarticle/80405/
  [Expand]JIRA Integration/viewarticle/80130/
  [Expand]GitHub Integration/viewarticle/80343/
  [Expand]Bitbucket Integration/viewarticle/91115/
  [Expand]Scripting/viewarticle/80313/
  [Expand]Web Services/viewarticle/80412/
 [Expand]Techniques & Best Practices/viewarticle/80403/
 [Expand]Appendices/viewarticle/80117/
Updated: 12/23/2016 Applies To: Collaborator 10 Rating: No votes Click to rate: PoorNot badAverageGoodExcellent

External Integrations

Top |Previous |Next

Bitbucket Integration

Collaborator provides support for Bitbucket Cloud, giving you the possibility to easily integrate these two products into your work processes. The integration saves the time and efforts needed to synchronize your commits on Bitbucket and Collaborator reviews.

How the Integration Works

Collaborator tracks changes at pre-defined repository on Bitbucket Cloud server and automatically creates reviews in Collaborator upon:

o pull requests in one or several specified branches of the repository,
o pushes to one or several specified branches of the repository. (The latter can be suppressed via the "Ignore pushes for branches" setting.)

bitbucket-pull-request

On the Collaborator server, the review is assigned to the user who has associated username filled in the Remote Accounts tab of their settings panel. The Review Materials section will hold the files that were modified on the Bitbucket server.

While creating pull request on Bitbucket, you can add specific Bitbucket users as reviewers to this request. If integration can match those Bitbucket users with some Collaborator users (that is, if User Remote Accounts are properly configured), then it will automatically add those users as reviewers on Collaborator's side as well.

bitbucket-new-review

Besides, the integration updates data in a previously created reviews, when

o further commits are made in a branch which initiated a pull request,
o a commit was made that resolves file merge conflict.

When a review is completed, the integration may automatically merge or decline the appropriate pull request. Additionally it may automatically close the corresponding feature branch upon merging a pull request. When a review is cancelled, deleted or rejected, the integration may automatically decline pull request. This behaviour can be adjusted via Bitbucket integration options.

If review was cancelled/deleted/rejected and pull request being reopened - new review will be created.

Requirements

Your Collaborator server must be accessible through Internet. Configure a firewall or enable tunneled connections to expose your local Collaborator server to the internet.

To use the integration features, you need to create an App password and a webhook on the Bitbucket server and configure certain settings on the Collaborator server. Read Configuring Bitbucket Integration for detailed instructions.

Technical Details

Both Git and Mercurial repositories are supported.
Integration creates reviews on any pull requests - no matter whether it came from the same repository of from forked repository. Forked repository of the same repository owner can be public or private. Forked repository of a different repository owner must be public repository. Assuming that User Remote Accounts are specified for the owner of forked repository.
When a pull requests causes file conflict, the integration acts as follows. Once a file conflict could be resolved automatically, the merge commit will not be added to the review. If a file conflict was resolved manually (that is, if some files have been changed to complete the merge), then Bitbucket integration will update the review with the changes from the resolving commit.

Known Issues

Bitbucket Server (on-premise version of Bitbucket) is currently not supported.
First push to newly created branch will be tracked only if it was branched out of master. Workaround: create new branch without commits - second push is tracked as it should.
Push for merged pull request is omitted only when merge commit has default Bitbucket message:
"Merged in branch_name (pull request #NN)
branch_name created online with Bitbucket"




© 2019 SmartBear Software. All rights reserved.
Email Send feedback on this document