ViewArticle

[Collapse]Collaborator 10
 [Expand]General Information/viewarticle/80040/
 [Expand]Getting Started/viewarticle/80359/
 [Collapse]Collaborator Server/viewarticle/80060/
  [Collapse]Installation/viewarticle/80365/
    System Requirements/viewarticle/80366/
   [Expand]Database Installation/viewarticle/80364/
    Server Installation/viewarticle/80363/
   [Expand]Server Upgrades/viewarticle/80401/
    Platform-Specific Notes/viewarticle/80409/
  [Expand]Server Administration/viewarticle/80108/
  [Expand]Collaborator Settings/viewarticle/80061/
 [Expand]Web Client/viewarticle/80107/
 [Expand]Desktop Clients/viewarticle/80151/
 [Expand]Version Control Integration/viewarticle/80048/
 [Expand]External Integrations/viewarticle/80340/
 [Expand]Techniques & Best Practices/viewarticle/80403/
 [Expand]Appendices/viewarticle/80117/
Updated: 12/23/2016 Applies To: Collaborator 10 Rating: AverageAverageAverageAverageAverage 5 vote(s) Click to rate: PoorNot badAverageGoodExcellent

Collaborator Server > Installation

Top |Previous |Next

Server Upgrades

This topic explains how to upgrade from a previous version of Collaborator server and retain all your data and settings.

For major releases, we recommend that you install the new version on a test machine using a copy of your current database. Test a typical workflow on the system to make sure it works and that there are no surprises for your users. See Testing Newer Versions for details.

Back Up Before Upgrading

During the upgrade process, changes may be made to Collaborator's database schema. Thus the upgraded server's database may become incompatible with previous versions of Collaborator. Therefore, it is important to perform a complete backup before attempting an upgrade.

Creating a backup is especially important if you are upgrading from an outdated version of Collaborator, CodeCollaborator or PeerReview Complete. Collaborator merges and replaces both CodeCollaborator and PeerReview Complete.

How to Upgrade

Upgrading the server component works exactly like installing it. To keep your data and configuration, do not uninstall previous version of Collaborator server. Just install a new version over the existing version.

When you are upgrading from a very old version of Collaborator, CodeCollaborator or PeerReview Complete, then you will need to perform an upgrade in a stepwise manner - from one major version to another. For example, if you are migrating from version 7.x, then at first you will need to upgrade to version 8.x and then to version 9.x
Installers for previous versions of Collaborator are available on SmartBear's website.

Download the server installer(s) and proceed through the installation wizard. If the installer detects an existing Collaborator server, it automatically assigns the same setting values as in the current configuration - though they can be edited, if desired.

Once the installation is finished, an update of database schema could be required. In this case, on attempt to open a Collaborator Web Client, it will display the database update form:

admin-upgrade-schema

Ensure that you have made a backup and press Upgrade Database button to proceed with the database migration. The rest of schema upgrade process is automatic. This may take some time depending on the scale of the changes required, so please be patient.

Compatibility with Older Clients

Collaborator server is backward compatible with a certain number of earlier versions of Collaborator clients. Generally, a server supports clients of the current and previous major release. You can find the number of the oldest stable client application, as well as specify your own minimum allowable build number in the Administrator Settings. Client applications whose build number is lower than Minimum Client Build are incompatible with the current version of Collaborator server.

In order to use new features of Collaborator, we recommend that you upgrade Collaborator clients, as well.

Upgrade Notes

Windows-Only: The system will be taken off-line while the upgrade takes place and will start automatically after the upgrade completes. When upgrading using a 64 bit installer on a server installed using the 32 bit installer, be sure to verify the install directory is the same as you currently have. The 64 bit installer will NOT automatically detect the existing install directory of a Collaborator install that was done using the 32 bit installer. In this scenario, simply edit the install location to be the fully qualified path of the existing install directory.
Unix-Only: The installer will not automatically stop or start the server, so if the server is currently running you will need to manually stop it, perform the upgrade, and then restart it.
After the upgrade validate the configuration of your Java Database Connectivity (JDBC) modules. Upgrading an outdated server (say from version 7 to version 9) may remove stored JDBC modules.



© 2018 SmartBear Software. All rights reserved.
Email Send feedback on this document