Applies to TM4J Server/Data Center 7.0, last modified on July 02, 2020

Test Management for Jira is highly customizable, and you can configure every part of the system (testing statuses, environments, labels, custom fields, etc.) to suit your specific project’s needs.

But before you configure TM4J, you may want to configure some of your Jira settings, both at the global and project levels. It is also a good idea to familiarise yourself with how to locate the configuration settings and how to use the delete and archive functions before you get started.

Locate the configuration settings

To access the configuration settings, click the Ellipses icon in the upper-right corner of any screen.

Configuration access

Click the image to enlarge it.

There are three sections for you to customize: Configuration, Statuses, and Custom Fields.

Configuration options

Click the image to enlarge it.

Customize environments, labels, iterations, datasets, and priorities

  1. Click either Environments, Labels, Iterations, Datasets, or Priorities.

  2. Type a name.
    If you’re adding an environment, iteration, or priority, you can also enter a description, though one isn’t required.

  3. Click Add.
    Your addition appears on the list.

Customize statuses

You can create custom statuses for test cases, test cycles, test plans, and test executions.

  1. Click an option in the Statuses section.

  2. Enter a status name.
    You can also enter a description, though it isn’t required.

  3. Select a color to represent the status (optional but recommended).

  4. Click Add.
    Your status appears on the list.

Default statuses

A few essential statuses in TM4J cannot be renamed or deleted. These statuses have the icon.

Test cycle statuses

Click the image to enlarge it.

Default statuses can still be archived. (See the Delete and Archive section below.)

Customize fields

You can create custom fields for test cases, test cycles, test plans, test steps, test executions, and folders.

The following field types are available:

  • Checkbox

  • Date Picker

  • Decimal Number

  • Number

  • Select List (Multi-Choice)

  • Select List (Single Choice)

  • Text Field (Multi-Line)

  • Text Field (Single Line)

  • User Picker

You can define whether each field is required, and you can drag-and-drop to reorder fields.

  1. Click one of the options in the Custom Fields section: Test Cases, Test Plans, Test Cycles, Test Plans, Test Steps, Test Executions, or Folders.

  2. Enter a field name.

  3. Select a field type from the drop-down list.
    If you choose one of the Select List types, you are prompted to add list options. Simply enter a value, then click Add.

  4. Optional: Check the Required box to make the field required.
    Required fields must have a value before a new item (test case, test step, etc.) can be saved.

  5. Click Add.
    Your custom field appears on the list. Hover over the row to edit or delete the field.

Custom fields appear on the Details tab (More Information section) of each test case/plan/cycle/step/execution or folder in the project.

Labels

Labels can only be deleted, not archived.

When you delete a label, you are prompted with information on how the label is used throughout TM4J. If the label is used on test artefacts, you are given the option to select a replacement label.

Delete label screen

If you select None, there is no replacement for the deleted label.

Delete and archive customized options

You can delete or archive any custom additions you make to TM4J.

  • Delete - Permanent removal from the app.

  • Archive - Renders the option invisible and inactive throughout TM4J but saves it in the configuration settings in case you want to activate it later.

Hover over any row, and click the cog to access the drop-down options.

The dropdown options screen

Click the image to enlarge it.

If you click Delete, you are prompted to verify your choice, as deletion is permanent. Some items currently in use within the app cannot be deleted.

If you click Archive, your item becomes gray and inactive. You can reactivate it by clicking the cog, then Unarchive.

See Also

Configure Jira Global Settings for TM4J
Configure Jira Project Settings

Highlight search results