Organization Ownership

Last modified on May 06, 2021

An organization owner is a user who can administer the organization: add, view and delete members; change member permissions; create and manage teams and projects; edit billing information; and so on.

By default, an organization has only one owner – the user who created it. If needed, the owner can add other users as organization owners, or transfer the ownership to another user.

Find the organization owners

Organization members can see the usernames of the organization owners in Settings > My Organizations > Assigned Organizations. Hover over the icon next to an organization to view its owners.

Viewing organization owners

Click the image to enlarge it.

Note for SwaggerHub On-Premise users: This feature is available in v. 1.21.0 and later.

Add or remove owners

  1. In SwaggerHub SaaS, SwaggerHub On-Premise 1.22 and later:

    • Select the organization in the SwaggerHub sidebar, then click Settings Settings next to the organization name.

    In earlier SwaggerHub On-Premise versions:

    • Click your username and select Settings. Switch to the My Organizations tab and click Details next to the organization name.

  2. Switch to the Members tab.

  3. If the user is not an organization member yet, invite this user to the organization.

  4. Select the Owner check box next to the user you want to promote to the owner:

    Making a user an owner

    Click the image to enlarge it.

  5. Confirm the role change.

  6. Add other owners, if needed.

To remove the Owner permissions from a user, clear the Owner check box and confirm the change.

Note: Owners cannot remove ownership from themselves. If you are an owner and want to remove the ownership, ask another owner of the organization to do this.

Transfer organization to another owner

To transfer the organization to another owner, you need to add a new owner, update the billing information (if needed), then ask them to remove you from the list of owners:

  1. If you are the only owner of the organization, give another member the Owner permissions (see above).

  2. Ask the new owner to confirm that they can access the organization settings (profile, members, teams).

  3. (Optional) Ask the new owner to update the billing information for the organization.

  4. (Optional) Update the organization’s email address on the Details tab of the organization settings.

  5. Ask the new owner to remove the Owner permissions from you.

    The organization will now appear under Assigned Organizations rather than Owned Organizations.

  6. (Optional) You can leave the organization now by clicking Leave next to the organization name.

See Also

Working With Organizations
Adding and Deleting Users in Organizations
Teams

Highlight search results