Join Wintertainment 2021 to share your stories, have fun, earn community badges, and more!

Adding Custom Terms & Conditions

Last modified on December 07, 2021

Introduced in SwaggerHub On-Premise 1.22.0.

You can add custom Terms & Conditions that users will need to accept before they can create a SwaggerHub account or log in. Users who do not accept these terms will not be able to browse the API catalog (including public API definitions) and otherwise use SwaggerHub.

Configure custom terms & conditions

The administrator can enable and configure custom terms & conditions as follows:

  1. In the Admin Center, select Terms & Conditions on the left.

  2. Select the Enable Terms & Conditions at Log In check box.

  3. Select how often the users will have to accept the terms – only once or at every log in.

    Note: The only once option means the users will be asked to accept the terms at the next login and also every time the terms are updated.
  4. Paste the text of your Terms & Conditions and format it as required. You can change the fonts, insert images and links, and so on.

    Terms & Conditions editor

    Click the image to enlarge it.

  5. Important: Click Apply.

How custom terms & conditions work

Once custom terms have been enabled, any users who sign up or log in will be prompted to accept those terms. This applies to both single sign-on users and internal authentication users. The Accept button becomes enabled only after the user scrolls down until the end of the text to ensure that the user has completely read the terms & conditions.

Depending on the configuration options, the terms need to be accepted either at every login or just once. If the terms are ever updated, all users will be logged out and prompted to accept the updated terms.

Custom terms & conditions displayed during user login

Click the image to enlarge it.

Users who do not accept the terms will not be able to log in, browse the API catalog (including public API definitions), and otherwise use SwaggerHub until they accept the terms.

Update custom terms & conditions

  1. In the Admin Center, select Terms & Conditions on the left.

  2. Change the text as required.

  3. Click Apply.

Existing users will be logged out of SwaggerHub and asked to accept the updated terms at the next login.

See when terms & conditions were last updated

The Last Applied label at the top of the Terms & Conditions editor shows when custom terms & conditions were last updated.

Date and time when Terms & Conditions were last updated

Disable custom terms & conditions

  1. In the Admin Center, select Terms & Conditions on the left.

  2. Unselect the Enable Terms & Conditions at Log In check box.

  3. Click Apply.

Audit log events

The audit log includes the following events related to custom terms & conditions. Note: These events are always added to the audit log of the default organization regardless of the actual user membership.

Event type Description
ACCEPTED_TERMS_AND_CONDITIONS A user accepted custom terms and conditions at signup or login.
CANCELLED_TERMS_AND_CONDITIONS A user did not accept custom terms and conditions at signup or login.
PUBLISHED_TERMS_AND_CONDITIONS The admin has enabled, disabled, or updated custom terms and conditions in the Admin Center.

See Also

Configuring SwaggerHub On-Premise

Highlight search results